Upcoming Events
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
NACAC LGBTQ+ SIG Webinar: The Powers of Allyship
Thursday, January 20, 2022, 5:00 PM EST
Category: Events

Join our NACAC LGBTQ+SIG for a conversation on the Powers of Allyship, on Thursday, January 20th (5 PM Eastern, 4 PM Central, 3 PM Mountain, 2 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this Webinar.

This conversation will start with a 1/1 interview with Darryl Jones (he/him), Senior Associate Director of Admissions, Coordinator for Multicultural Admission, and Intercollegiate Athletics Liaison at Gettysburg College. Many of you know Darryl from his time and work in the admissions profession, but Darryl also had the opportunity to participate and star in Season 1 Episode 1 of "We're Here" on HBO. 


"We're Here" is an American reality television series featuring former RuPaul's Drag Race contestants Bob the Drag Queen,  Eureka O'Hara, and Shangela, where they travel across the country to recruit local residents to participate in a one-night-only drag show. It was the winner of the 2021 GLAAD Media Awards for Outstanding Reality Program and highlights allies and members of the LGBTQ+ community taking part in a drag performance while showcasing the transformative power of this art form. 

Join us as we discuss with Darryl his involvement with the hit HBO show, and his thoughts on allyship. Not all of us can be on a TV show to demonstrate our allyship, but what more can we do for our colleagues and students in the LGBTQ+ community to offer our support?

After our conversation with Darryl, we'll be joined by panelists to discuss their thoughts around allyship specific to the admissions and school counseling community. The webinar will be recorded and circulated to those that register. If you'd like to submit questions for either Darryl or our panelists, please send those directly to Zack George ([email protected]) by January 14th.